January 24, 2022, Monday

NC finalizes six candidates for NA polls

KATHMANDU: The Nepali Congress (NC) has finalized six candidates for the National Assembly election being held on January 26.

A meeting of the party’s Central Working Committee (CWC) on Monday finalized the names of the candidates.


The party has picked Gopal Kumar Basnet in Province 1, Krishna Prasad Poudel in Bagmati Province, Kamala Pant in Gandaki, Yubaraj Sharma in Lumbini, Durga Kumari Gurung in Karnali and Narayan Mishra in Sudurpaschim Province as candidates to contest in the NA election.

A meeting of the ruling coalition earlier agreed to allocate six NA seats to the NC. The ruling coalition partners also urged voters to support candidates of the coalition.