August 7, 2022, Sunday

All-party meeting convened by the Speaker underway

KATHMANDU: An all-party meeting convened by Speaker Agni Prasad Sapkota has begun at Lhotse Hall of the Federal Parliament Building, New Baneshwor.

According to sources, the meeting called by the Speaker is attended by Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, CPN-Maoist Centre Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, CPN-Unified Socialist Chairman Madhav Kumar Nepal, Janata Samajwadi Party Chairman Upendra Yadav, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Chairman Mahanta Thakur, Rastriya Janamorcha Vice Chairman Durga Poudel, Nepal Majdur Kisan Party Secretary Prem Suwal and the Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Gyanendra Bahadur Karki.


The main opposition party CPN-UML has boycotted the meeting.

UML has been accusing Speaker Sapkota of being bias and has reiterated that either the action against the defecting lawmakers or the resignation of Speaker only can end the deadlock in the parliament.